Banteay Srei

This last weekend at the Angkor Wat temple complex, I was also able to see Banteay Srei! I’d never seen this temple before, but I’ve been dying to because of all the good things I’ve heard and read about it. Banteay Srei is unique because of the pink color of its sandstone and the incredibly detailed quality of its carvings.

I’m happy to report that it lived up to all of the hype, and became one of my new favorite temples! I’ve always loved Bayon because of the massive faces that make it unique, but Banteay Srei and its intricate artwork take a very close second.

Although the temple was small, every portion of it was elegantly carved, from pillars at the doorways to murals higher on the walls, to inscriptions. It always amazes me to think about how much work and effort went into these temples.

Lucky for me, I went with three of my Cambodian teachers who were able to give me a little more enlightenment on what all of the carvings meant. My favorite was a god who eats time. As you live out your life, he eats more and more of your time away until you don’t have any left.

Leave a comment